Organizing malware analysis with Colander: example on Android/WyrmSpy

When I analyze a malware, I keep side by side an ugly text file where I write down my reversing notes. Unfortunately, my notes are usually totally cryptic — even by me — a few weeks later.

This is taken from my old notes on the analysis of a sample of Android/GodFather

To tackle this problem, I have been using Colander now and then for a few months. Colander is an open-source “incident response and knowledge management platform”. It is multi-purpose, i.e not specific to Android malware analysis, but I find it quite easy to use to organize my reverse engineering notes.

As an example, we’ll analyze a sample of Android/WyrmSpy sha256 b66847d571e471ac78ffa11a82dded5ac6d2f52b25304adbfab90716d22c0905.

What does this article cover? (1) Use of Colander, (2) Analysis of a sample of WyrmSpy. Enjoy!

Colander

Colander uses Incident Response terminology with artifacts, devices, threats, observables, events and data. Basically, you create items in these “categories” and then you can create relations between them, and Colander automatically generates a graph to display it all.

LookOut’s report contains lists of WyrmSpy IOCs. So, I created a URL item for the report, a SHA256 observable for the sample I want to look into, and assigned the relation “lists IOCs” between both entities. Actually, it would probably be wiser to upload the sample as an artifact, but I was lazy and didn’t want to upload any file.

The main activity is referenced in the Android Manifest, and fortunately, the sample is not packed, so we can decompile the activity. I always like to keep track of where the main entry point is, so I create a “fragment of data” below for the main activity.

Fragment of data for the Main activity of the malware.

The malware starts a FakeActivity, which starts a so-called AdobeService, which processes malicious commands. For instance, the following code will upload raw audio recording to the remote C2.