Learning How to Problem-Solve at Scale and Embrace a World of Continuous Change with Morgan Maxwell, Cloud Engineer

red and white lettering on black background

At CrowdStrike, we sometimes like to say, “There’s data, big data and CrowdStrike data,” by which we mean our engineers work with a volume and scale of data that is totally unmatched in the tech world. Cloud Engineer Morgan Maxwell learned as much firsthand, when she joined four and a half years ago. Since then, she’s come to embrace the volume of data, the scale of our cloud and the pace of our business model.

In our latest installment of 5 Questions, we sit down with Morgan to learn more about what it’s like to work at a place with “more microservices than people.”

Q: What does your role entail?

I’m a cloud engineer, which is truly the most awesome title ever and leads to much amusement among family and friends who do not work in technology.

Like most cloud engineers, I’m not a computer security subject matter expert. Our focus is on robust, distributed systems that can process unprecedented amounts of data. Within cloud, I’m part of the auth team — we handle all the authentication and authorization infrastructure for the platform.

My day-to-day is a combination of application development, operations and cat herding. We are always adding new features, which may involve creating a new microservice — at this point, I’m quite sure cloud services outnumber cloud engineers. We spend a lot of time thinking about reliability — monitoring, alerting, reducing errors with automation, swapping out existing components to obtain greater scalability, operational flexibility, etc. — and we are first to the scene of many fires.

One unique aspect of auth is that because so much of the cloud integrates with or extends our infrastructure, we get to engage with a wide range of teams and learn about their use cases.

Q: What’s the most rewarding part of your job?