An Autonomous Agent for Agile Planning

Introduction

I am a Software Engineer. A big part of my job, though, is not coding, but planning. I like coding, and I can code well (hope that is true) but planning is not something I am crazy about.

I can understand that planning is essential for a big tech org like Walmart, given our team size and geographical spread. and this is something inevitable exercise.

But hey… LLMs these days can do pretty much anything (playful exaggeration), So can they help me with Agile Planning?
The short answer is of course… Yes.

Now, for a slightly longer and more informative answer, Here goes the rest of the article.
To demonstrate how we (me and my team) created an autonomous agent for Agile planning, let me break this conversation into four parts.

We will start with a problem statement. Then we will discuss the thought process behind building this agent. We will talk briefly about LLMs and retrieval augmented generation (RAG) and how these concepts can used as reasoning Agents to accomplish a task. Towards the end, we will discuss how we have implemented this agent .
Building this agent has been a great learning for me. And I am excited to share it with you, so let’s get started.

What are we solving?

Before I explain the problem, let me briefly explain the Agile process — for those happy folks who never had to deal with it.

It starts with quarterly Programme Increment (PI) planning. The business and the product managers sit together to chalk out the product goals for the next quarter. The engineering managers use these goals and distil them into a list of software features. A PI is typically divided into 4 or 6 sprints. Once the features are finalized, the next task is to plan these sprints.

Sprint planning is quite a laborious process. Here is a brief outline:

First, we divide each goal into a list of tasks, spanning from design to production.

For each task, also called stories: