McAfee Interns Share Their Experience for #NationalInternDay

By Christie, HR Communications Intern

As someone who always wanted to make an impact in the world, I thought nonprofit was the only fit for my passions in marketing and philanthropy. Because of this, I’ve worked primarily in the nonprofit sector for the last three years. But to keep my options open, I desired to experience at least one corporate internship before I graduated college.

I wasn’t sure if any company would take me under its wing due to my lack of corporate experience though. That was until McAfee offered me the opportunity to work with them this summer.

As a senior in college, McAfee provided me the real-life experience I hoped for and more. Below are the top three reasons why my internship experience with McAfee has truly been nothing less than invaluable:

Playing to Win Even as an Intern

Since day one, I knew this internship was unique and not like any other. Everyone at McAfee works with agility. Although the nonprofit industry is notorious for moving fast, it is still fascinating to see employees so eager to work on tasks of all sizes with such drive and efficiency.

Instead of being delegated tasks to fulfill, I get to share what I want to work on and what I want to take away from my time working with McAfee.

As a huge social media enthusiast, I helped manage @LifeatMcAfee’s Instagram strategy from implementing new social trends, generating online advertisements and publishing my own designs.

But the best part? I am not seen or approached as an intern, but as a team member. I am held to the same expectations and given the same opportunities – being able to add value to the team and carry out real, impactful work every day.

People First and Foremost

If I’ve learned anything from my first 10 weeks here, it is that McAfee genuinely values its employees and community. McAfee does not shy away from diversity or from supporting its employees in every way possible.