LOLBINed — F-Secure Support Tool (FSDIAG)

LOLBINed — F-Secure Support Tool (FSDIAG)

F-Secure Logo

Introduction

I’ve been doing some “stupid research” recently on a lot of tools in my quest to find LOLBins everywhere. This short blog is about one of those tools called “fsdiag.exe”.

Note: This issue has been reported at the start of the year in January 2022 and has been fixed in the latest releases as of March 2022

Freedom VPN

It all started while I was playing with F-Secure Freedom VPN and I was looking at the directory structure.

I started playing with some of the binaries in there to get a feel of how they work and one in particular caught my eye.

The “fsdiag.exe” binary is located by default inside the following directory “C:\Program Files (x86)\F-Secure\Freedome\Freedome\1\” and according to the F-Secure website here is its functionality.

“The tool gathers information about your system and its configuration. The information includes product details, operating system logs, and system settings.” — FSDIAG Instructions

Executing the binary itself will greet us with the following screen.

Hello FSDIAG

Clicking the “Run diagnostics” button will execute the binary and generate a ZIP file that you can send to the support team.

Now looking at the trace of execution from Procmon we see something interesting.

Procmon Trace

The binary is actually collecting the diagnostic information using windows system binaries. Seeing this I thought that either the tool might be calling these binaries directly from the source embedded within or perhaps it’s using some kind of “resource” or “script” file.

Looking at the Procmon trace in more detail we see a couple of “Generic Read” requests on two files located in the installation directory. Namely “fsdiag.ini” and “basic.ini”

Procmon Trace

Looking at the contents of these files we can see that the commands seen above were read from these files and executed. Here is an example.

Screenshot from “basic.ini”