CISO Stressbusters Post #3: 3 ways to share accountability for security risk management

Jim Eckart, former Chief Information Security Officer (CISO) of The Coca-Cola Company and current Chief Security Advisor at Microsoft shares his advice for relieving stress in today’s CISO Stressbuster post.

If you are a CISO, it can feel like the responsibility for keeping the company secure rests solely on your shoulders. This may be an attitude that’s shared by your organization or a mindset based on your own sense of duty, but either way, it can cause a tremendous amount of stress—and it may not make your organization more secure.

Although I currently work as a Chief Security Advisor at Microsoft, I’ve spent the last decade of my career as a CISO in companies like Eli Lilly and Coca-Cola. I know first-hand how stressful this role can be. Distributing accountability can alleviate some of the pressure. It can also help you bring in new ideas and build a security culture. For the third blog in the CISO stressbusters series, here are three tips for sharing security accountability within and outside your organization.

1. Establish a cyber risk management governance committee

After a series of well-published breaches at big brands, most boards and executive teams have acknowledged that a security incident isn’t just a technology risk, it’s a business risk. But often security is still treated as something that gets bolted on at the end. This can result in risky decisions that may be hard to fix later.

To effectively manage cyber risk, organizations need to evaluate the security risks of all major initiatives from the very beginning. For each project, people need to understand the risk tolerance of the company, the potential upsides of the project, and the risks in order to make smart decisions. This requires participation of business owners, security experts, and IT.